GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,446
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, ageldarkz5086
» Online Users: 2,388
2 members and 2,386 guests
aidancahvsoz240, PrettyBoy

Old 06-14-2009, 07:07 PM
GreekChat Member

How much is appearance weighed during rush?

Hi. I'm currently a sophomore and plan to rush in the fall. I was just wondering how much appearance is weighed when it comes to rushing, in your sorority or in general? That is, weight-wise. I know that appearance isn't everything and personality carries a long way too, but I'm a bit nervous about the pictures I see of sororities on my college campus, through the Greek website at my school. My body type doesn't seem to fit in with the majority of the girls in sororities! I'll admit that out of everything there is to worry about rush that this is what I worry most about (and it's quite silly), but I've learned that first impressions are made on appearance alone in the first 7 seconds of meeting and we girls alone are very judging by nature. I know that there's a lot more to it, like how you carry yourself and confidence, but it's just so nerve-wracking. I especially freak out when I see pictures of girls in bikinis at some event... I've never worn a bikini in my life.