GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Fraternity Recruitment

Fraternity Recruitment Recruitment event ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,122
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, haledarkz870
» Online Users: 2,196
0 members and 2,196 guests
No Members online

Old 01-10-2011, 01:32 AM
GreekChat Member

Scared to go through pledgeship

Hello, I am a freshman at UA and after discussing the topic of greek life with my parents, we have agreed it is in my best interest to pledge a fraternity this spring (I already obtained my bids from fall rush). My only concern is the process of pledgeship. Lots of my friends went through it and said it was hell. My question is, is pledgeship really a bad experience and what are some tips on going through it?
Old 01-10-2011, 01:54 AM
GreekChat Member

If you find the right group of guys it won't be hell. Some groups haze, some don't. They'll all tell you they don't haze.
Old 01-10-2011, 02:24 AM
GreekChat Member

If they haze you, it's probably not in your best interests to join that fraternity. Do you really think you can truly consider guys who abuse you to be close enough to be your brothers?

So, here's the deal: if they haze you, you are always free to turn in your pin and walk away.

As for finding out which organizations haze and which don't: the ones that don't will say that they don't haze, the ones that do say "university policies" don't allow hazing.
Old 01-10-2011, 03:33 AM
GreekChat Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by excelblue View Post