GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Greek Life
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Greek Life This forum is for various discussion topics regarding greek life. If you are posting a non-greek related message, please do so in one of the General Chat Topic forums.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,446
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, ageldarkz5086
» Online Users: 1,520
0 members and 1,520 guests
No Members online

Old 06-16-2012, 04:19 AM
GreekChat Member

I Need Some Help Please

Hi there, I'm new to GC and I have found this website to be very helpful in learning how GLO are within the United States. I am from the Bahamas and I am currently in a Bahamian founded sorority. I am moving to the US in January and I will be attending an HBCU in Florida. From what I have read it is not possible to change sororities once you have joined one. May question is, if I have never been part of a sorority located in the US, does this rule still apply to me? I am aware that it does not seem loyal to switch sororities when I am already in one but the issue is that I am getting married and moving to the US permanently with my Fiancé and I would like to be part of a GLO that was founded in the US. I would like to join one of the Divine 9 when I move. I want to have the same unity and sisterhood that I see among these sororities which is not in the sorority I am currently in. It is easy to want to switch because there is no sense of unity of any kind in my sorority. We don't even socialize or do community work any-more it is really sad because these are all the things I joined the organization for. I would be fi