GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > General Chat Topics > Careers & Employment

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,126
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, babobygooglet93
» Online Users: 1,933
0 members and 1,933 guests
No Members online

Old 07-17-2006, 01:52 PM
GreekChat Member

A different kind of Resume question...

Ok, we just got an announcement at church yesterday that we are looking for a new Choir/Handbell Director. I majored in music in college (therapy, not education, however) and was in my church handbell choir for about 10 years when I was younger. In other words, I'm probably one of the most qualified candidates in the church (we have a lot of wonderful singers, but not ones who have had the music theory, etc like I have). I put in my resume to one of the men on the committee who is in charge of hiring. I didn't put any "Work Experience", as right now I do accting/payroll, and my past jobs include reception, retail and food service (mostly while I was in school). All of my music experience was either classroom, ensemble, or volunteer. He emailed me back and asked if I'd like to present past work experience for the committee. My only reason for submitting any past work experience would just be to prove, yes, I can have a steady, normal job. Should I include it?? And what do I include, just my full time job...or the part time ones I had in college??
Old 07-17-2006, 01:53 PM
GreekChat Member

I would include the full time job.
Old 07-17-2006, 02:02 PM
GreekChat Member

Ditto. They want to be sure that you're hireable
I always have a "relevant experience" and "other experience"
Old 07-25-2006, 01:20 PM