GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > GLO Specific Forums > Alpha > Alpha Kappa Alpha

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,130
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, zmaisongoogleto

Old 06-04-2004, 08:10 AM
GreekChat Member

What Makes You Purchase a Novel?

Hey everyone...I'm on my way to work, but I wanted to pose this question to all of you right quick.

Many of you may not know this, but I am a writer -- currently unpublished. I've been trying to get a literary agent for the past year and a half or so. It's tough work, but I've been learning a lot about the publishing industry through my rejections.

I have also recently been investigating the option of self-publishing. I thought I knew a lot about marketing and promoting literature, but I figure I'd ask all of you this question:

What makes YOU purchase a novel?

Word of mouth?
Are you a member of a book club that makes monthly suggestions?
Do you come to GreekChat for suggestions?
Do you regularly browse bookstores for new titles? (reading the back covers, etc)
Do you read Black Issues Book Review or some ther literature-related magazine? How about book reviews in mainstream publications?

Just curious!
Old 06-04-2004, 11:16 AM
GreekChat Member

Location: Where stately oaks and broad magnolias shade inspiring halls
Usually the cover illustration. I am a sucker for Fabio. j/k.

I mainly depend on book club referrals because I don't have a lot of free time. Also, if there is a particular author that I like, I look out for the newest title.
Old 06-04-2004, 11:29 AM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to btb87 Send a message via Yahoo to btb87