GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Fraternity Recruitment

Fraternity Recruitment Recruitment event ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,123
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, zsamulpitt5293
» Online Users: 1,104
1 members and 1,103 guests
No Members online

Old 01-28-2013, 04:21 PM
GreekChat Member

Thoughts on military veterans rushing fraternities

First things first, I AM NOT a military veteran. I'm a freshman in college that's been considering leaving school to serve in the military. However, I also know that I want to eventually complete my degree, and rushing a fraternity was something I wanted to do as well. So how would you feel about a guy who left college to serve and then came back and wanted to rush a fraternity? This won't really have any impact on whether I choose to join or not. I just want to what I should expect in the future.
Old 01-28-2013, 04:26 PM
Banned

MHO....It worked after WW1 and WW2 and worked well, to an extent....(minus the hazing).

BG
Old 01-28-2013, 04:28 PM
GreekChat Member

It really depends on the person and the chapter. One of my chapter sisters was a veteran, and another was in ROTC during college. I knew at least one vet in a fraternity, and a few that were ROTC. I realize you're asking about vets, but know that there's not a stigma and Greeks support the military. I knew a guy at my school who pledged, initiated, then joined the military, was deployed, and then returned to college and his fraternity to finish his degree.