GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Greek Life

Greek Life This forum is for various discussion topics regarding greek life. If you are posting a non-greek related message, please do so in one of the General Chat Topic forums.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,125
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, PiperJarma
» Online Users: 1,478
0 members and 1,478 guests
No Members online

Old 02-21-2009, 11:02 PM
GreekChat Member

Questions about Greek Life (from an outsider [UK])

Hi,

I'm a British student hoping to commence PhD study in the USA soon. I am 24 and am curious about Greek life, having heard the good and the bad. Can you answer a few of my questions?

Is my age and scholastic level a barrier? (Ie are Frats undergrad institutions)

Secondly, the UK is very multicultural and our student bodies are thoroughly integrated. Can people of any background join a Greek organization?

Are there graduate specific organizations?

I would be grateful if you can help me out with this information. My applications are in process with UCLA and Berkeley, so any institution insights would be great.

Thanks,

Geryon

Last edited by geryon; 02-21-2009 at 11:05 PM.
Old 02-21-2009, 11:25 PM

Whether a fraternity allows grad students depends on the specific fraternity. They are mostly geared toward undergraduates.

Just wait until you get to Berkeley or UCLA and check them out.

Lakers Nation.
Old 02-22-2009, 11:39 AM
GreekChat Member

And the question on integration?
Old 02-22-2009, 12:41 PM
GreekChat Member

Yes, I would say our groups are integrated.