GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Recruitment General discussion about recruitment.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,446
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, ageldarkz5086
» Online Users: 1,516
0 members and 1,516 guests
No Members online

Old 09-23-2007, 02:04 PM
GreekChat Member

Can I Join as a Sophomore???

Hey, I go to a large university right now and I am a current sophomore,after this semester I am transfering to the University of Kentucky. I have rushed down here and got numerous bids but did not feel like doing one because they were not that great, however I have visited UK and they look great. My question is as a second semester sophomore will I have any problems joining a fraternity at UK since I am not a freshman or anything?? If I explain I am a transfer will that help? Any advice would be great. If your interested in knowing the school i go to know please send a pm

Last edited by SophFrat; 09-23-2007 at 03:32 PM.
Buy GreekChat a Coffee to help support this site, the community and the efforts that go into developing & keeping GC online. ( discuss )
Old 09-23-2007, 02:12 PM
GreekChat Member

Call the Office of Greek Life/Fraternity Affairs at UK and talk to them. They can give you statistics on rush and upperclassmen placement.

Universally, fraternity rush is a lot more laid back than sorority rush. In my experience with several college campuses across North America, sophomore men do just fine at fraternity rush. The fraternities are not as concerned with pledging freshmen as the sororities tend to be.