GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > General Chat Topics > Chit Chat
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Chit Chat The Chit Chat forum is for discussions that do not fit into the forum topics listed below.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,446
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, ageldarkz5086
» Online Users: 1,522
0 members and 1,522 guests
No Members online

Old 02-03-2004, 01:45 PM
GreekChat Member

Related to names thread: Using out of date names

Would you give your child a really out of date name, such as Edna for a girl or your maiden name (if you're a woman) to a boy? When I was an undergrad, there was a girl in my dorm named Adelaide (which was interesting, because the dorm attached to mine was called Adelaide Hall)
Old 02-03-2004, 01:52 PM
Ginger

As long as there can be a nickname for it... or even an unrelated nickname given (ie. girl's name is Belinda, but people call her Suzy.. for some reason, it happens). I love "historic" names. But I think it's kind of mean to call your child that and then force them to be Edna (which is my grandmother's name, and she goes by Sunny!) at age 3.
Old 02-03-2004, 03:47 PM
GreekChat Member

I don't think so. BUt you know what is funny..I was just having this conversation about how you can date specific names to a specific time period while watching the sound of music and looking at the real life names...funny how often times things like that always come up more then once when you have just thought about them for the first time.
Old 02-03-2004, 05:16 PM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to etahannah