GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment

Recruitment General discussion about recruitment.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,125
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, PiperJarma
» Online Users: 1,237
3 members and 1,234 guests
g41965, Xidelt

Old 04-03-2001, 04:02 AM
GreekChat Member

Post Question About Rush

Hi! My school only has rush in January. I am currently a freshman and I rushed in January, and I didn't get into the house that I really wanted. I completely went through rush, but did not accept any bids. I was cut by a few houses. I am going to rush next January, and I'm assuming I may be asked if I've rushed before. How should I respond? I don't want to make it obvious that they didn't pick me last year for whatever reason. I basically need to find a response that draws little attention to the fact that I was cut, yet I am very interested in their sorority. (Oh, by the way, the reason why I was cut from some of those houses was for academic reasons. But there was a mistake in my GPA that has now been corrected, and I now make the GPA requirements for all of the houses). Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Old 04-03-2001, 08:09 AM

Angel -

Just be honest! If someone asks you if you went through rush before tell them yes. If they ask why you didn't get a bid, just say "student affairs (or whoever) screwed up my grades and it looked like I wasn't eligible but I was." This is a REALLY good reason, actually - it's nothing you did.

You might want to see if any of the sororities offer continuous open bidding in the fall.
Old 04-03-2001, 05:17 PM
GreekChat Member