GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,143
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, liscahvs8263
» Online Users: 742
2 members and 740 guests
masntop6082, zsophiashlzeo45

Old 10-08-2009, 03:39 PM
GreekChat Member

Recruitment at SEC schools

Hi everyone!

I'm new to GC and have several questions.

My daughter is a high school senior currently applying from out-of-state (VA) to several SEC schools, among them Ole Miss, Alabama, Auburn, and the University of Kentucky. Though I'm a sorority alumna myself, I attended a mid-western university (maaaaany moons ago), where recruitment was far less competitive and very different. We're trying to get a handle on the recruitment process my daughter will be a part of and would appreciate advice...

First, when I was in school (gulp, the late 70's), references were hardly used in my chapter. Yes, if we received one on a PNM, we did invite her back to second set as a courtesy--though I understand that's not the case now at most schools. And yes, we did have to secure a reference before we could offer a bid to a girl, but honestly, references weren't looked at by anyone other than the Recruitment and Reference Chairmen. That said, I understand things are very different at most SEC schools, so she's going to do her best to get a reference for every GLO at the school she ends up attending. From what I've read here on other threads, that seems very important.