GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Locals

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,417
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, DemetraMau
» Online Users: 1,013
2 members and 1,011 guests
Cookiez17, Phrozen Sands

Old 07-27-2005, 02:41 AM
GreekChat Member

Question should i try to start a local?

Hi everyone! I'm new to GreekChat (at least in the respect of that i'm registered now lol)...

Here's my story/question:
I was involved with a national sorority. Less than 2 days before my pledge class's "getting in" i depledged after (during?) a "traditional" event that basically broke everything in the school's (and national's) anti-hazing policy. I decided that I did not want anything to do with a GLO that condoned this kind of behavior. Because of depledging so late in the pledge program I was harassed and made to feel unsafe and unwelcome doing anything on campus (even by the girls that had been my pledge sisters and friends). And no, I never reported them out of fear of the sisters...so it was that i depledged, not that i got them in trouble with the school/local authorities. It got to the point where I decided to change schools at the end of the semester (for other reasons too, but the sisters and brother orgs' nastiness was right up there)...

So begins my question:
I am starting at my new school in the fall. I still have the desire to be part of a sorority and experience the feeling of sisterhood that I had with my nat'l...but i NEVER want to go through the hell of what I (or my former pledge sisters) went through again, nor do I want any other girls that are simply looking for a place to belong to go through.