GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Fraternity Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Fraternity Recruitment Recruitment event ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,454
Threads: 115,511
Welcome to our newest member, nathnpetrovo648
» Online Users: 1,524
1 members and 1,523 guests
No Members online

Old 12-11-2011, 10:42 PM
GreekChat Member

Rushing at UGA as an international student

Hi guys,

I'm very new to all thinks Greek, since I have just transferred to UGA, from France. I've tried my best to lurk around here and read up/find out as much as I can about Greek life, but still if I say/do anything that's a no-no around here, please forgive me in advance.

Now that that's out of the way,

Like I said, I just transferred to UGA this semester, and my knowledge of the Greek system was pretty much non existent before I came. However, I've gotten to know a couple of guys and girls in the system, and how it functions etc.

Long story short, I've learned about the networking opportunities, the leadership opportunities, the experience and other various facts like a mind-boggling number of CEOs of top companies being Greek; and I feel like I want to give rushing a try. I'll be a junior, but I still have a few houses in mind and want to try, so I've just signed up for Spring Rush.

Here's the thing though, I was looking at all the fraternities in the IFC, and all the brothers seem predominantly from the same background - caucasian and southern, and I'm neither.