GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,124
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, znathanhulzeo24
» Online Users: 1,501
1 members and 1,500 guests
speedsters

Old 11-09-2014, 04:23 PM
GreekChat Member

Campus Involvement?

Hi everyone! I'm a freshman and plan on going through formal recruitment in the spring! I'm equal parts excited and nervous. No one in my family is greek, so I've been doing lots and lots of reading here on GC to get me up to speed on what to expect! My question involves clubs/activities on campus...specifically, my lack of them. I haven't really joined any organizations on campus yet, as I wanted to spend my first semester adjusting to college life and focusing on classes and my grades. I didn't want to overwhelm myself! Is that going to hurt my chances at recruitment? If it's any help, I was very involved in high school (somewhere between 300-400 hours of volunteer work, plus several honors societies and clubs) and got great grades! I just don't want the sororities to think that I'm not going to be an active member of campus, because I fully intend to be, but I just wanted to give myself a little time to acclimate to my new home. Do you think this will be a big detriment to my chances? Thank you guys in advance!
Old 11-09-2014, 08:26 PM
GreekChat Member

Short version -yes. This is one reason I dislike deferred recruitment. Think about what your conversations first round will be like -