GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > General Chat Topics > Careers & Employment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,468
Threads: 115,513
Welcome to our newest member, dizzycmaarleyy5
» Online Users: 2,254
1 members and 2,253 guests
Sister Havana

Old 10-23-2005, 10:21 PM
GreekChat Member

Send a message via AIM to PennyCarter Send a message via Yahoo to PennyCarter
Switching from nonexempt to exempt...need advice

I've been in my job for a little over six months. I was hired in as an hourly employee. I was shocked when I found this out since I have my masters and work in mkt...most jobs are salaried, but of course it worked to my advantage b/c I get paid overtime. This past week I had several hours of OT b/c we had an event and I had to go out of town for some training. Then I was told on Thursday by the HR assistant not to worry about clocking out, I've been moved to exempt (as of last Monday).

This feels wrong on so many levels. I'm at a bank and my employee handbook (that we sign) says everyone is hourly except AVP's and above (which I'm not). They are only switching the mkt department (me and 2 others) to salary. I'm certain that this is b/c we have to work a lot of events and get more OT than in other depts. Everytime we've asked our boss about OT he's said its fine as long as there was a legit reason (events, major work load, etc.).