GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,140
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, zolivilittlez29
» Online Users: 1,180
4 members and 1,176 guests
g41965, John, Phrozen Sands

Old 01-28-2009, 02:32 PM
GreekChat Member

Just a few questions...

I'm a sophomore this year, and informal recruitment starts tonight.

Last fall, I went to a few open houses for one sorority, got a bid from a said sorority, and accepted it, before I really knew anyone. Long story short, I don't really fit with that chapter, and didn't get initiated.
My bid ran out in December.

So, I was planning on checking out the other 5 sororities on campus and I just had a few questions.

If a chapter decides to bid me, can they see that I had a bid from another sorority, and didn't finish with the new member program?

If at an interest party, it happens to come up, should I just be honest and tell them the reason I quit? (That I accepted my bid too soon, and then didn't feel that I really fit in with the chapter?)

Should I bring up the fact that even though I'm a sophomore, I'm probably going to be here for another 3+ years?

I'm in a professional fraternity, related to my major/minor, so would it be okay to talk about that a little bit? It's not part of PHC.

I'm sorry if these questions have been asked 293743298 times before, I'm just a little nervous.