GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Chapter Operations

Chapter Operations Share plans, ideas, and brainstorm problems related to chapter operations. Topics also include parliamentary procedure, national programs, innovations & etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,124
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, znathanhulzeo24
» Online Users: 977
3 members and 974 guests
indygphib, PGD-GRAD

Old 07-01-2013, 04:16 AM
GreekChat Member

Greek letters / spelling out letters

I was recently at a fraternity and sorority life conference (I'm an undergrad) and I noticed many of the other students with me wore philanthropy or formal or date party shirts that had the letters of another organization. For example, I saw a SigEp wearing a shirt that says "ΔΖ turtle bowl." At my school, if delta Zeta sold a shirt, they would have it spelled out "delta zeta."

I asked one of the students about this out of curiosity, if people can wear other letters. He said yeah, and an advisor walked by and joined this conversation. I explained that my school spells it out, and the advisor asked me, what's the difference? And to be honest, I didn't have an answer. She even told me there isn't even a national policy about wearing other letters! (Maybe organization based though)

Is there a difference by using your Greek letters or spelling it out? Do they both not mean the same thing? It seems silly but I've never thought about it that way. This year we changed our philanthropy shirt design by removing our Greek letters on it and spelling it out so we could sell to other students. But did we really have to? Are these just unspoken rules?