GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Alumni Involvement
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,428
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, baangelasteaxdy
» Online Users: 2,208
3 members and 2,205 guests
Cookiez17, Sen's Revenge

Old 10-19-2010, 06:19 PM
GreekChat Member

Liberal and creative alumni - is there a place at the table?

As a freshman, I didn't know what conservative and liberal were, and I sure didn't know that organizations leaned one way or the other. I knew how I grew up, how my parents raised me, and how my community was. I knew how to recognize good people... and I knew when I found a bunch of guys who were warm-hearted, fun, welcoming, and easy-going, that I felt comfortable with. So that's how I chose my fraternity.

I had a good experience. I have 2-3 good friends who will probably be friends for life. I have good memories, and my fraternity opened the door for me to involvement in Greek Life and meeting a whole lot of people. It helped me during my first teaching job where my assistant principal also was part of the same Greek system... not in the way of "this got me the job," but we had that common bond to talk about and that helped build our friendship.

But as an alumni, 10 years after graduation, I'm disillusioned. When I pick up the alumni magazine, I see pictures of people who value money, power, and prestige. The featured alumni seem to be chosen by how quickly they've risen in the ranks of corporations. I rarely see anyone who isn't wearing a suit on those pages.