GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Fraternity Recruitment
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Fraternity Recruitment Recruitment event ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,446
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, ageldarkz5086
» Online Users: 2,127
2 members and 2,125 guests
3DGator

Old 01-29-2012, 01:59 AM
GreekChat Member

Rushing out of state

Hi I'm an out of state student attending the University of Alabama next year. I'm interested in rushing a fraternity and naturally alot of the popular old row fraternities sparked my interest. However, I've heard that it is very difficult for out of state students to get bids at these fraternities and that many of them already have 95% of their pledge class decided before school even starts in the fall. Is this true? Is there anything I can do to increase my chances of getting a bid at one of these fraternities? Should I just focus on the new row ones? This question is for Alabama specifically but I assume that many other schools have a similar situation. Any info you can give me would be appreciated.
Buy GreekChat a Coffee to help support this site, the community and the efforts that go into developing & keeping GC online. ( discuss )
Old 01-29-2012, 11:37 AM
GreekChat Member

True.
But you never know. The key is to start meeting people NOW, as many as you can, who are fraternity members. Many of the fraternities have summer rush parties where they choose their members.