GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,124
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, znathanhulzeo24
» Online Users: 1,199
1 members and 1,198 guests
3DGator

Old 01-15-2017, 02:31 PM
GreekChat Member

Transferring To A University Without My Chapter

*Sorry if this is the wrong spot for this post, I'm new around here!*

So here's the situation: I'm a second semester college freshman who did not go through formal recruitment but took an open bid from my NPC sorority back around late September and got initiated several weeks later. I wasn't really aware of what Greek Life did or was involved in until I got to college and went to a few open sisterhoods, and now that I know about its connections to philanthropy and it's great support system for its members, I don't want to be without it.

I am a very academically driven student, and I've discovered that the university I am attending now does not provide the best environment for that, which is one of the main reasons why I am looking to transfer elsewhere. This isn't much of a surprise, the choice to attend this school was more hasty than I would have preferred, but I didn't see myself wanting to transfer when I joined my sorority, that's why I went through with it. My education is extremely important to me though, and I do love my sisters and everything, I just think it is best that I find a university that I feel suits my drives and aspirations more.