GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Recruitment > Sorority Recruitment

Sorority Recruitment Recruitment event and bid day ideas, membership retention, publicity, recruitment policies, etc.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,124
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, znathanhulzeo24
» Online Users: 1,451
0 members and 1,451 guests
No Members online

Old 09-27-2009, 04:48 PM
GreekChat Member

Post Rushing as a Sophomore

I'm a sophomore at a private Southern school and contemplating rush this year. My mother and some of her sisters were all in Sorority A, which has a chapter at my school. Ideally, I would love to be able to maintain a legacy, though, of course, I understand that Sorority A might not be the best fit for me, etc.

I rushed last year as a freshman -- my school has six chapters, and just began to colonize another chapter this fall. Anyways -- going into rush, I didn't really have much of an idea about any of the sororities, so I treated all of them with the same respect. However, I didn't try my best as far as physical presentation goes; my clothes didn't fit right, in all honesty I was pretty haphazardly put-together though I did manage to keep conversations going at all of the houses, not have awkward or stilted conversation, etc.

Anyways, the second round of rush, I was invited back to 3 houses (the max was 4 I think), one of which was Sorority A. This was something I was extremely excited about; the conversation I had there was pretty stilted however and a little bit awkward -- the sister I was talking to could not have been more disinterested, either in the process or in me I would guess.