GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Greek Life

Greek Life This forum is for various discussion topics regarding greek life. If you are posting a non-greek related message, please do so in one of the General Chat Topic forums.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,122
Threads: 115,503
Welcome to our newest member, haledarkz870
» Online Users: 1,430
2 members and 1,428 guests
LaneSig, TLLK

Old 03-12-2012, 12:35 AM
GreekChat Member

From colony to getting chartered - what happens if a sorority won't get chartered?

Hey guys! (:

I am new to the Greek community and to my current university because I just recently transferred from my community college to a 4-year school in my state.

Anyways, I did not have the chance to go through Formal, or Rush, and did COB, or informal, instead. I recently joined a colony on campus and have also been recently initiated.

I love my sorority and all the girls in it but the thing is .. They have been on campus since May 2010 or so but only managed to get four girls during Formal in 2011. Currently we only have 16 members in our sorority and a few of them are graduating this year.

One of my sisters now told me that our sorority might have to close if we don't get chartered .. and it seems unlikely that we'll get a lot of new members during Formal this year

What would happen in that case? Will I still stay a life-long member of my sorority?

And - if anybody knows of a similar experience - what can I do to recruit more members? A lot of new members seem to prefer bigger sororities.
Old 03-12-2012, 12:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILove2BGreek View Post
Hey guys! (: