GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > GLO Specific Forums > Alpha > Alpha Kappa Alpha
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,456
Threads: 115,511
Welcome to our newest member, zatylerahvso465
» Online Users: 2,408
3 members and 2,405 guests
No Members online
Closed Thread

Old 05-09-2009, 01:55 AM
GreekChat Member

Interested Young Lady, Seeking Information and Guidance

Greetings,

I am an undergrad and have been interested in the sorority for some time. I am seeking resources to acquire more information about the organization. (Please note that I am not asking anyone on this board for personal information. I am merely looking for other avenues for knowledge) Of course, my search began with the national website, the university I attend chapter's website, other websites, books (not The Past is Prologue) and other things here and there.

Can anyone provide any feedback?

I also have another question...I am well aware of the inner workings of NPHC on my campus. In particular, there have been some questionable practices/procedures displayed by the chapter that I am interested in. I am very adamant about becoming a member of the sorority but am worried about regulations and guidelines not being followed correctly and my chances dissolving. (I do realize I am being very vague but I am also very aware of women's feelings toward their org. I do not want to offend anyone, but the truth of the matter is that there are some shady dealings going on here.) Should I stay in pursuit of membership here, or wait until grad school?

Any constructive assistance is greatly appreciated.