GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > General Chat Topics > Careers & Employment

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,426
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, Abisha55
» Online Users: 2,566
2 members and 2,564 guests
FSUZeta

Old 05-14-2005, 01:19 PM

I am so frustrated!

Ya'll know I graduated about a year and a half ago from Winthrop University. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communications with a minor in Political Science. It would seem to make some sense I would have a decent entry-level job by now. I don't! I work at Target . . . as a PART-TIME sales associate . . . at $6.85 an hour . . . averaging 14 hours a week. With the piddly check I receive every 2 weeks, I can barely pay my credit card bill ($167 for a pair of glasses I needed), gas and maintenance for my car (which needs its brakes checked, tires rotated, gas/transmission systems flushed which all need to be done at the dealership), car insurance ($90 a month), and cell phone. Granted, I have a savings account, but my belief about a savings account is that it's exactly what it says it is . . . a savings account, not an expense account. I try to put 10% of my check into my savings account because I read in the business section of the newspaper that is what you're "supposed" to do and it sounded like a reasonable idea so I try to follow it. Granted it's about $50 a month but that's all I can do and it adds up eventually.