GreekChat.com Forums  

Go Back   GreekChat.com Forums > Greek Life
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Greek Life This forum is for various discussion topics regarding greek life. If you are posting a non-greek related message, please do so in one of the General Chat Topic forums.

Register Now for FREE!
Join GreekChat.com, The Fraternity & Sorority Greek Chat Network. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:

Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

I agree to forum rules 

» GC Stats
Members: 325,427
Threads: 115,510
Welcome to our newest member, FlorCundif
» Online Users: 2,411
0 members and 2,411 guests
No Members online

Old 07-22-2012, 05:17 PM
GreekChat Member

How do you explain a sorority to someone from another country?

I'm currently studying abroad and frequently find myself answering the question "What are those symbols on your shirt" by students from other countries where sororities do not exist. It's difficult to explain when many of them have no point of reference, so my question is how do you explain a sorority to someone who has never heard of such a thing before?
I will be my whole life long"
Buy GreekChat a Coffee to help support this site, the community and the efforts that go into developing & keeping GC online. ( discuss )
Old 07-22-2012, 05:19 PM
Super Moderator

It is difficult. On the few occasions that I have tried to explain, I most often get a blank look for the explainee.
Old 07-22-2012, 05:23 PM
GreekChat Member

I'd explain it as a women's group with selective membership. I'd then say that the group takes part in social and service activities, with two different membership levels: college students and alumnae.
Old 07-22-2012, 05:34 PM
GreekChat Member