GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Sorority Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=217)
-   -   2007 UGA Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=89398)

UGADad 08-11-2007 11:38 PM

2007 UGA Recruitment

This is my third try -- lost the first two posts. I'm a newbie with a daughter going through UGA recruitment. I want to start by thanking you all. We have learned so much since stumbling on to this site about two months ago. As a result, she is going in with her eyes open, an open mind, and reasonable expectations. She is an out-of-state freshman, and the adjustment to college life is already going to be difficult for her. We have a close-knit family, and we all went to Athens together to move her in. It was a very emotional day for all of us. She is our second to go off to college, but the first girl. Anyway, we are hoping she will find a great sorority home in Athens to help her with the transition.

sunnydebs 08-11-2007 11:43 PM

GOOD LUCK!

Best of luck to your daughter!

UGADad 08-11-2007 11:48 PM

First Round

I had hoped someone would start a UGA 2007 thread, but since I haven't seen one, I thought I'd get one started while everyone is happy (with no cuts until Monday!). I wish I could do a "recruitment story" for her experience, but I know we'll be lucky to get short calls with little tidbits each day. I'll pass those along. I hope others will as well. Anyway, despite the scorching heat and exhausiting day, she really enjoyed today. They visited 11 of the 18 houses, and they will go to 6 tomorrow (so I guess one sorority isn't participating). She liked almost all the sororities she visited today, and she really loved 5 of them. Of course it is early, and 20 minutes is a short time to find out much about anything, so we'll see how it goes. But the good news is that she really felt good about today.