GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Chit Chat (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=185)
-   -   Does your college campus have an on-campus bar? (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=120162)

Jen 06-09-2011 01:13 AM

Does your college campus have an on-campus bar?

Smile_Awhile 06-09-2011 01:18 AM

Our campus is (technically) dry. Students, even over 21, are not allowed to have alcohol on campus. It is also a violation of the code of conduct to be intoxicated while on campus.

The rule is sort of enforced, but it isn't difficult to get around either.

victoriana 06-09-2011 02:00 AM

We don't have an official campus bar, but we have several that are right on the other side of the campus border that are basically staples of life here.

littleowl33 06-09-2011 02:24 AM

My undergrad campus used to before I was a student there, but they got rid of it and replaced it with a student "hang-out" area with couches and TVs. No one ever used it, so they replaced it with a study space and it suddenly became very popular. I'll proudly admit that my alma mater is full of nerds. :D

The campus I work on now has a bar, but it's part of a business-dress-required restaurant on campus so I don't think many undergrads go there. Most of the seniors live off-campus anyway.

Always AlphaGam 06-09-2011 02:30 AM

At the time I was in school 10-15 years ago, we had a small campus bar. It was more of a restaurant type of atmosphere (upscale caf) during the day but there was a semi-stocked bar that got busy at around 5PM. It only stayed open until 8:30. If we were really having bad mornings, they served alcohol as early as 10AM. :eek:

Fridays were the busiest days as they had live music. When things shut down everyone headed down the street to the university dive bars.

I think the bar is still there and they still serve booze, but from what I hear it's not what it used to be thanks to Sodexho taking over.