GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   What is sorority life really like? Pros, cons? (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=1882)

KaplunK 09-12-1999 04:40 AM

What is sorority life really like? Pros, cons?

Hi. I live in England, and might be going to university in a couple years. Recently, I've been reading a lot of books about sororities. I think that joining one would be an experience of a lifetime. However, I have read bad things too. Could someone please fill me in on:

1. Costs
2. Initiations
3. Rushes (is that the same as initiations?)
4. The average number of people in one house
5. Opportunities
6. Pros
7. Cons
8. Sorority life
9. Contact after graduation

I'd really appreciate this! Thanks!

------------------
¸.·´¨¨)
~¸.·´ ¸.·´¨¨)
(_¸.·´ ¸.·´~

*Luv Sam

Spoony 09-29-1999 06:43 PM

Sam, Hi. I am a sophomore Sigma Kappa at Culver-Stockton College. I can try yo answer some of your questions, but the Greek system here is very unique, being on a very small campus.

1. Costs - Dues are not as bad as you might think, they can range anywhere from $25/m to $250/m. But everything that you pay goes towards helping the sorority, on your campus, and nationally. Some of the dues also go towards the house's philanthopy. (Sigma Kappa is the 3rd leading contributor to the Alzheimer's Foundation) A good thing to keep in mind, is that each sorority is different, and each campus is different. The bigger the campus, the higher the dues, usually.

2. Initiations - This varies from sorority to sorority. I can tell you that each house holds it's initiation ceremony very close to it's heart, and it embodies the spirit of the sororities.

3. Rushes (is that the same as initiations?)