GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Sorority Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=217)
-   -   New Student Orientation (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=80734)

grksciencegeek 09-15-2006 08:49 PM

New Student Orientation and Fall Recruitment

I am a student at a small private college that recruits in the spring. We are fighting for recruitment in the fall and one of the major concerns our school has is how we can do new student orientation and recruitment at the same time. For those of you who go to small schools (less than 4000 students), how does your recruitment and new student orientation work together? Also, what school do you attend? Thanks!

PeppyGPhiB 09-15-2006 09:07 PM

My alma mater, which has around 3,000 undergrads, has orientation in the end of August (classes start the last week of the month), and recruitment a few weeks into September. This allows the women a few weeks to get used to their surroundings and classes, comes before mid-terms, and allows some time to get women excited about Greek Life without letting stereotypes and gossip to take root. Recruitment is held in the evenings (after most classes are out), and one weekend. It seems to work well, and there are few better alternatives.

PhoenixAzul 09-16-2006 07:34 AM

Because we don't do recruitment until Winter Quarter (we run on trimesters...why they call them quarters, I'll never know), orientation does not interact w/ greek life stuff. However, there's usually a "Greek Q&A" session and there's always a Greek Life table at the First Friday festival.

Buttonz 09-16-2006 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PhoenixAzul (Post 1321831)