GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Sorority Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=217)
-   -   Just another Rec Question (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=227884)

Legally_blond 04-07-2017 04:03 PM

Just another Rec Question

Hey all,
I know there's been quite a few threads about recs so I'm sorry if I'm repeating something, but I have read many of them and I don't think I am. I will be a sophomore next year and I'm planning on rushing at Clemson. I am an out of state student, but I have been pretty involved on campus this year and I am confidedent that my grades won't be an issue. I want to get ahead of the game for next year, and I have started to find rec writers; I'm hoping to get two for every group on campus. My question is, does who writes the recommendations make a difference to the chapter, or does it simply matter that you have a recommendation. Like would an alum be better than an active or would someone from the south or an area where the chapter is considered 'stronger' make more of an impression? Also would an alum from clemson be the best? Thank you for any advice and sorry if I'm overthinking this!

AZTheta 04-07-2017 04:29 PM

Paging clemsongirl!

FSUZeta 04-07-2017 05:19 PM

Clemsongirl will have the best answer for her campus, but in my experience with chapters on various campuses( but not Clemson), I would have to say it was most important to have a rec by someone who knows you personally and can speak on your good character and attributes.

thetalady 04-07-2017 07:10 PM

Many sororities do not allow collegians to write recommendations, but some do. If an active member is allowed to write a rec, they are generally not allowed to write one for her own chapter. HURRY on those recs! Ideally, you want them submitted before school is out for the summer. Best of luck!! Come back and give us a rush story when it is all over! :-)