GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Sorority Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=217)
-   -   Sorority SUMMER rush attire (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=127636)

correa13 06-29-2012 07:52 PM

Sorority SUMMER rush attire

Hey! I will be starting at Cornell University this August as a Transfer student. With that said, I am excited about going Greek. And since I am a Transfer student I will be able to rush for the Fall semester instead of during the winter at the beginning of the Spring semester. So, I have a question on a potential outfit for SUMMER rush attire.

I absolutely love this dress and would like to know if it is sorority summer rush semi-formal material? This is what I would like to wear for Preference night. How about if I wear it with the "right" accessories?

http://www.bigdropnyc.com/assets/images/BDP02959.jpg

Socalparent 06-29-2012 08:04 PM

Am I an old lady who thinks that's cute but a little too short in the front? On my tall daughter that would be scandalously short.

DrPhil 06-29-2012 08:12 PM

lane swerve/

I really like the dress. How short it is in the front may depend on the height, weight, and body type of the person wearing it (and perhaps whether stilettos are being worn). The OP would have to determine whether the dress looks on her the way it looks in the photo. If it does, I recommend not wearing it for NPC recruitment or for any event where your thighs are not welcome. The general rule of "if your dress/skirt/shorts is/are at or below your hand when your arms are down, it's okay for more conservative events" seems not to apply to that dress.

/lane swerve

AnotherKD 06-29-2012 09:01 PM

In addition, I know it is the summer, but that color seems awfully sheer. I know formal dresses aren't warranted for pref, but this just seems like a slip with an odd hemline.

Hockeynut 06-29-2012 09:55 PM