GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Sorority Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=217)
-   -   Recruitment UT Austin (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=215937)

summergal 03-13-2016 10:55 PM

Recruitment UT Austin

Hi!
I'm a current CAP student at UTSA and am planning to rush at UT the following year. I've read a bunch of the stories on the internet, and formal recruitment sounds to be extremely competitive. I was wondering what is the difference between a letter of recommendation, a reference letter, sponsorship, and a letter of support?

Titchou 03-14-2016 06:32 AM

All the terms containing "letter" are the same. Sponsorship is Delta Gamma's term for a recommendation.

DubaiSis 03-14-2016 01:58 PM

Placement rates at UT Austin are excellent, as long as you stay in to the end. It is only very competitive if you restrict yourself to a few chapters. Be open to every chapter and presuming you have the grades and some social skills you should be fine.

KDCat 03-14-2016 02:27 PM

Don't pay attention to tent talk. It is particularly vicious at Texas, but all of the chapters are terrific.

jolene 03-14-2016 08:16 PM

As KDCat said, don't listen to tent talk and go with where you fit/click best.

summergal 03-15-2016 02:14 AM

I was unsure of rushing since I do not have a 3.5 gpa since I took some hard classes and did not do too well for example calculus and biosciences, but I have above a 3.0. I am still pretty open minded just so I can experience formal recruitment and have no what ifs

summergal 03-15-2016 02:15 AM

And btw what is tent talk? does it have to do with the tents in front of each house?

Jill1228 03-15-2016 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by summergal (Post 2407073)
And btw what is tent talk? does it have to do with the tents in front of each house?

"Tent talk" is idle gossip and nasty rumours. Take it with a grain of salt