GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   GPA Requirement to get into a Sorority (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=95274)

polkadotpink46 04-08-2008 02:18 AM

GPA Requirement to get into a Sorority

I am currently a second semester freshman and I definitely want to rush next semester as a sophomore. I've had a hard time getting used to college and my first semester GPA put me on probation. I'm trying to get myself back on track and this semester I hope to get a 2.3 Overall though my cumulative GPA isn't great and I know that sororities definitely look at that during recruitment. I am taking one course over the summer but that can't boost my GPA.

I was always a good student in high school and involved in lots of activities. In college though, I'm struggling and am only involved in equestrian club.
I regret not joining a sorority this fall and since then I have been waiting and looking forward to rush. I have to say ZTA is by far my favorite chapter on campus. Is there any chance I could get into ZTA or any chapter for that matter with my GPA as it is? I don't want to wait until junior year because I'll miss out on a whole year and I really want to get involved more than anything. Basically what are my chances with my current GPA and recruitment in the fall?

By the way I go to James Madison University in Virginia :)

kddani 04-08-2008 06:38 AM

Please please please do a search. Actually, if you had even looked at any of the recent threads in this forum, there's a ton on GPA.

A 2.3 may very well not even be high enough to rush, let alone get a bid. And you haven't even earned that 2.3 yet. You're conjecturing that's what you HOPE to get, which means your first semester GPA was below that. You may want to be more concerned with getting good grades so you don't get kicked out of school.