GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Greek Life (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Wearing sorority letters (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=142299)

Kiekie895 06-22-2014 11:05 AM

Wearing sorority letters

I'm about to be a sophmore in college and there is a sorority that is not on my campus that I love. My mom was a member when she was a student so she has all her old shirts. I would like to join the sorority but as a nursing student I don't know if I am going to be able to afford it or give it the time it requires. Can I wear the sorority letters without being an actual member? What's your opinion?

ASUADPi 06-22-2014 11:12 AM

I wouldn't considering you are thinking about joining a sorority on your campus. As a legacy, I'm sure you are incredibly proud of your mom's chapter, but I would reserve wearing the shirts as night shirts or something.

Your mom might know her sororities official policy when it comes to legacies wearing letters. I have a sister who lets her elementary age daughter wear letters but she is also only 10. It's quite obvious that she isn't old enough to be in a sorority.

As for joining a sorority while in nursing school, sisters do it all the time. It is a matter of balancing your schedule and not over extending yourself. If you would like to go through recruitment at your school, I say go for it. What do you have to lose.

33girl 06-22-2014 11:14 AM

NO NO NO NO NO.

It doesn't matter if the sorority is on your campus or not, wearing letters of a group you are not a member of is unacceptable. If you want to gain campus fame as the lame wannabe, this is the way to do it.

But I don't understand how you say you would like to join the sorority. If it's an NPC group, you can't join a group not on your campus.

AZTheta 06-22-2014 12:46 PM

Why would you even think about doing this? Baffled.

My opinion, since you asked: it's a bad idea.