GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Recruitment Stories (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=209)
-   -   My COB story! Follow along. (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=227477)

berumotto 03-21-2017 10:45 AM

My COB story! Follow along.

Hi all,

This is my first post on this thread after having lurked around for a few weeks. Wahoo!

I am currently a sophomore at a northern school. I'm not sure how competitive my school is, but generally most girls who go through formal recruitment will get a bid.

My freshman year, I did not participate in formal recruitment. At the time, I had no clue what Greek life really was, and all I knew were the negative stereotypes associated with it. However, I eventually came to know some really nice girls who were in Greek life. So, my perceptions of sororities changed. I realized how fun and enriching sisterhood can be, and I signed up for formal recruitment this past fall.

I found formal recruitment to be somewhat overwhelming, and I honestly didn't realize how much of a time commitment joining a sorority would be. I eventually dropped out of recruitment before preference day due to personal reasons (I had recently been offered a position at an amazing internship, but it would have prevented me from having free time on the evenings, when chapter/other events would have taken place).