PDA

View Full Version : exactly what is skating?

ll10
09-25-2007, 03:35 AM
i'm new to greek life - researching on the frats on campus and most likely pledging for one... i've heard the term skating and although i have kind of an idea of what it is, it's not so clear on my head. what's skating?
thanks!

Sugar08
09-25-2007, 03:54 AM
i'm new to greek life - researching on the frats on campus and most likely pledging for one... i've heard the term skating and although i have kind of an idea of what it is, it's not so clear on my head. what's skating?
thanks!

Oh dear. :(

Unregistered-
09-25-2007, 04:22 AM
The search button is your friend. If GreekChat doesn't work, there's always Google.

http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/archive/index.php/t-1246.html
http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/archive/index.php/t-2604.html

FWIW, in my experience here on GreekChat, the use of that word is frowned upon and I've seen many people get sensitive about it here.

Judging from your post, I'm going to assume that you're interested in an NPHC fraternity. That said, if I were you, I'd refrain from asking any questions on intake and membership online and follow the guidelines set forth by the fraternity you're interested in.

ll10
09-25-2007, 04:37 AM
thanks for clarifying that - i didn't know it was such a sensitive subject... but i'm glad i know now...

PrettyBoy
09-26-2007, 12:56 AM
thanks!
I'll tell you exactly what it is. A skater is a joker who just signs his/her name on the dotted line without going through any kind of pledge process. At least that's what it was when I was in school. Unfortunately pledging has gotten so strict for safety reasons that now a pledge is pretty much forced to skate in.

ladygreek
09-26-2007, 01:13 AM