PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of the new Trident subscription policy?

lake
05-25-2005, 10:17 AM
Just curious what you guys think. Personally, I've been subscribing to the Trident now for about five years, and I really don't mind paying for the privilege of receiving it, especially if it continues to evolve into the high quality publication it has become.

However, it sounds as if this is kind of a hot button issue for some of the alums.

Your thoughts?

JupiterTC
05-25-2005, 12:25 PM
From a collegiate member perspective, I can understand how it is unfair to pay the extra money for alumnae to receive the magazine. I can also understand that there are some alumnae who haven't been active since college, and yet it's unfair for them to receive the publication for free. However, there are some GLOs who deliever their magazine to alums regardless of how active they are. My dad is a member of Kappa Sigma and he's not as active as he use to be, but he still receives his magazine without fail.

Is it cost effective? Yes. Is it fair? I'm afraid I haven't been a member long enough to determine that, but I can certainly see both sides of the argument.

sugar and spice
05-25-2005, 01:37 PM
I was surprised at the letters in the most recent Trident. I can understand that some alumnae might be upset about the change, but it's only 20 dollars a year (and you don't have to pay that if you're involved in an alum chapter!). You can also read the issues online for free -- and I know not everyone has a computer or internet access, but I think this will become less of an issue as the technologically educated generation goes alum.