PDA

View Full Version : eBay Scare/Spoof


Kristin AGD
09-17-2003, 12:04 PM
I received the following email today supposedly from eBay. It looks very official, and when you click on the link it still looks official, and when you hit submit it takes you to eBay. Very scary.

I have had no problems buying or bidding so I investigated, went to eBay's site, and submitted it to them.

It is a spoof! If you get an email or link asking for this type of information send it to spoof@ebay.com immediately.

-----Original Message-----
From: eBay [mailto:us-support@eBay.com]
Sent: Wednesday, September 17, 2003 7:42 AM
To: Kristin AGD
Subject: 0fficial Notice for all E-Bay users


Dear eBay User,

During our regular udpate and verification of the accounts, we couldn't verify your current information. Either your information has changed or it is incomplete.

As a result, your access to bid or buy on Ebay has been restricted. To start using your eBay account fully, please update and verify your information by clicking below :

https://scgi.ebay.com/saw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyInformation

Regards,

eBay

**Please Do Not Reply To This E-Mail As You Will Not Receive A Responce**

*** If this is a repeat, I apologize. Didn't anyone to get duped into giving out their information. I know a lot of us bid on badges and stuff.

PM_Mama00
09-17-2003, 05:37 PM
I got a similar email from 1800-flowers. When it asked for my password, I found that kinda fishy.

wishuponastar
09-17-2003, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by PM_Mama00
I got a similar email from 1800-flowers. When it asked for my password, I found that kinda fishy.

I got that same email. The supposed "1-800 flowers.com website" actually had the address of http://hometown.aol.com/co6katas which is what I found most suspicious, the email sender was bayley78 and not 1800 flowers.com customer service. then, the links on the page that would lead to other 1-800 flowers.com pages didn't work. I thought it was very shady that they asked for my aol screenname and password. I reported this to aol. PM_Mama00 and Kristin AGD, (and others who may have recieved this email) if you still have the email, you should report it to aol.

~ Andrea :)

ETA: when I went to the page again just now it (and the aol account) seems to have beem deleted. :)

AchtungBaby80
09-17-2003, 09:45 PM
I've gotten two e-mails so far saying that my "application has been denied"...only...I never applied for anything.

cntryZTA5
09-18-2003, 12:06 AM
I also received two e-mails from 1800-flowers. They looked strange to me so I reported them to AOL.

honeychile
09-18-2003, 12:29 AM
I've been getting several emails a day, supposedly for a patch from Microsoft. Only problem is, when you run a virus scan, they come up as viruses!! I have questioned my favorite techie (which means I could be WAY off base!), but I thought I'd warn y'all!!!