PDA

View Full Version : Approaching Collegiates as an Alum

shadokat
01-30-2001, 10:41 AM
I am a Regional Advisor for my national sorority, and one of the chapters in my region is the chapter I graduated from. I have always gone back for alum events, donated money, and let them know that I am there if they need me. When I became a Regional Advisor, I got them an alumnae chapter advisor who was from the chapter as well. We both put in a lot of volunteer work and time for the chapter, but feel that all they do is resent us for trying to help.

Is it possible that these women would rather just be left alone? The chapter is in major recruitment trouble, along with numerous operations problems. Does there come a point in time when you say, I can only do what they ask for, and turn your back? The chapter advisor called me and told me that they asked her not to invite alums to their first round of rush, because it would give the impression of being a larger group than what they are. Isn't this ridiculous???

Any advice would be really appreciated.

LexiKD
01-30-2001, 10:07 PM
I think alumna should ALWAYS help out a chapter in need. You have been there and know a little more than the typical college member so if they need you or anyone to help you would know!
You could use it to motivate...if they shape up and do really well with the help then you will not need to be there next time.
I think it is crazy to ask you not to come...I think if you were introduced and given the respect an alumna deserves then it would be an awesome recruitment experience for a Potential New Member...it shows there is sorority life after graduation and it really is a lifetime commitment!
I have been a sorority president and on Panhellenic and the most important lesson I learned was, what is in the best intrest of the chapter goes no matter the resistence!

sigmagrrl
01-30-2001, 10:57 PM