PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a pledge

apb1990
11-10-2008, 10:52 PM
Ok im a freshman at a northwestern school and i had decided to rush and ended up pledging a fraternity this semester. Anyway it is getting close to the end and i find out that i will not be initiated this semester and have been offered to continue my pledging (i.e. restart being a pledge again next semester and repeat everything) or dropping all together.

Ive been struggling for the last few days since i find out and am just lost at what to do. I thought i was doing good i did everything asked, hang around a bunch, aceing pledge education materials so it was a shock to find out a few weeks before initiation that i won't be initiated with my pledge brothers.

Im just looking for advice and what other peoples take on the situation is. I like the fraternity and thought everything was in sync. I just dont know if i want to go through pledging again just to been crushed right before initiation.

SAEalumnus
11-10-2008, 10:54 PM
I thought i was doing good i did everything asked, hang around a bunch, aceing pledge education materials so it was a shock to find out a few weeks before initiation that i won't be initiated with my pledge brothers.

If you were doing so well, why did the chapter decide not to initiate you? Were you given any kind of reason?

ASTalumna06
11-11-2008, 09:53 AM
I thought i was doing good i did everything asked, hang around a bunch, aceing pledge education materials so it was a shock to find out a few weeks before initiation that i won't be initiated with my pledge brothers.

If you were doing so well, why did the chapter decide not to initiate you? Were you given any kind of reason?

Yea, this makes no sense. I would think they'd have to give you a reason. Especially if they're a national organization. To just tell you, "Sorry, wait until next semester," out of left field, probably wouldn't go over well.